British Flag

About the LCSP

The LCSP was founded in 1919 in England by a group of practitioners in Massage and Color Chiropody. Over a busy period of many years, this progressive and active organization has done much excellent work to raise the professional status of the practicioner in Massage and allied therapies.

Throughout its long history, The London & Counties Society of Physiologists has been concerned with the profession of Massage and Allied Therapies, and the Society exists to further the professional status, and to serve the interests of practitioners engaged in such therapies, particularly those in private practice. The Society now has a large membership with over 1,700 practitioners on its register. Representation is not just within the United Kingdom but worldwide, with membership extending over the globe, for example, Australia, Tasmania, New Zealand, The Irish Republic, Portugal, Tanzania and the USA. The Canadian Branch of the Society is self-governing.

Accepting as criterion for membership of this Society, the therapeutic application of Massage in one or other of its forms, all applicants for membership are required to satisfy the Council of the Society as to their training, qualification and proficiency in an approved sphere of therapy. The LCSP is a professional Society, conducting as necessary, examinations and/or interviews for membership, but does not function as a training organization nor qualifying body as such. It requires all applicants for membership to be undergoing or to have acquired adequate training for acceptable qualifications in the therapies practiced, either through the Society's official training establishment or through their educational establishments or courses approved by the Society.

Canadain Flag

Canadian Branch

The Canadian Branch of the Society was set up in 1982 and came about following an invitation from the Calgary City Council to the Northern Institute of Massage in Blackpool, England to assist in the provision of an approved training program for massage therapists practicing in the city.

Facilities for approved tuition and acquisition of NIM qualifications were set up in Calgary, Edmonton and in other centres in Alberta, followed in time by similar facilities in Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

This led to the setting up of the A&D School at Regina, later to become the Western College of Massage Therapies, and other schools in Canada.

The formation of a Canadian Branch of the LCSP provided graduates of these schools holding NIM qualifications with an inter-provincial organization to promote and protect their interests and the Society worked along with the Alberta Massage Therapists Associations (AMTA) and the Masseurs Association of Saskatchewan (MAS) to generate the development of the massage profession in these provinces at that time.

There is little doubt that the high reputation and influence of LCSP has been a major factor in the development of the Massage Therapy profession in Canada in recent years. Abe Reimer, a founder-member of the A&D School at Regina, and Joyce Raiwet, founder of the Clyde School in Alberta, were awarded a Fellowship of the Society in 1984; followed the award of this honour to Sister Delphine Berschiminsky and Randy Ellingson in 1990, Jay Fee and Shelley Glenday in 2000, Margorie Liske in 2003 and Michelle Drescher-Schaerer in 2007.

Council of the Branch

Current Directors
President: Michelle Drescher-Schaerer
Vice President: Randy Deneiko
Treasurer: Bonnie Perreault
Organizing Secretary: Bob Myles
Director Membership: Randy Deneiko
Director Education: Lori Tanner
Director Insurance: Michelle Drescher-Schaerer
Director Disciplinary: Carol Dobrinsky
Director Conference: Wes Ginter
Director Newsletter: Bonnie Perreault
Administrative Secretary: Ross Cowan B. Comm.

Director Descriptions
The affairs of the Branch shall be managed by the Council of a minimum of seven (7) and a maximum of nine (9) Directors of the Branch, such Directors being either Full, Fellow or Honourary Members of the Society.

The Officers of the Branch shall be as follows:

All officers shall be elected Directors of the corporation and they shall cease to be Officers if they cease to be Directors. The said Officers, together with the remaining Directors, form the Council of Directors. The duties of the Officers shall be as follows:

The President shall sit as Exofficio of all Committees, appoint Members to Committees upon the recommendation of Council, chair all meetings of the Council and Society. Further, the President shall see that all orders of the Council are carried out. The President shall vote on issues of Council only when the remaining Council members have reached an impasse.

Vice President
The Vice-President shall chair meetings which the President cannot attend and shall take over the chair should the President be required to stand down at any meeting or during the election of the President. The Vice President will take over all duties of the President should the President become incapacitated. The Vice-President shall be considered for the nomination for President.

Organizing Secretary
The Organizing Secretary shall be appointed by the President. It shall be the duty of the Organizing Secretary (or his/her assistant) to attend all meetings of the Council and of the Society; and to keep proper minutes and records of meetings; and all other books and records of the Society; and to conduct the correspondence of the Society.

The Treasurer shall keep the financial records to the Society and have the signing authority for the Society.

Other Directors
All remaining Directors shall perform duties and sit on Committees as is required by Council, voting on all matters required at meetings of the Council.

© Copyright 2001-2015, London & Counties Society of Physiologists, Canadian Branch